The Joys of Spring (Cleaning)

Now that spring is FINALLY here (take that, winter!), it’s time for spring cleaning. I feel like this whole “spring cleaning” thing gets a bad rep because most people don’t like to spend time putting away sweaters and dusting their bookshelves. I mean, sure. Maybe it’s not the most exciting thing in the world, but I personally find a lot of small joys in the process of spring cleaning. Here’s why!

IMG_4086

Ah yes, a good old high-quality Snapchat. At any rate, my entire bedroom floor was covered after I took every winter and fall item out of my closet and dresser drawers. Then, I had to go through the process of taking every spring and summer article of clothing out from under my bed, and in the midst of that I found a ton of clothes that didn’t even fit me anymore! We’re talking children’s pants in size 10 and extra small t-shirts from Justice.

Not only did I totally switch out the attire in my closet, but I also ended up with a trash bag full of clothes to sell this summer (hello, garage sale).

Spring cleaning means that it’s spring! Well, duh. But seeing tank tops and shorts on my clothing rack rather than insulated leggings and Christmas dresses? Totally gets me in the springtime mood.

People tend to get bored when they clean, but I beat that out of the way by jamming to some music while I organize things. Or, in yesterday’s case, watch some episodes of “Glee” while I’m at it. I prop the window open and let in the sunshine, hear the birds… how can I be in a bad mood then?

Decluttering your house and bedroom also means that you have an excuse to buy some new stuff. I go shopping probably a little too often, but with each season come updated trends and fashions. I managed to add some nice ripped capris, a floral blouse, and strappy sundress to my wardrobe on Saturday. Not only that, but I stopped by Ulta and bought a new Tarte palette (the Don’t Quit Your Daydream eyeshadows are gorgeous) and earned myself a free Benefit Primer, Tarte mascara, and Tarte lip color.

P.S. Being an Ulta member if you shop there at least once a month is really worth it!!

IMG_4087

I’m a girly girl, so I love to shop. Spring cleaning is kind of a little push for me… it’s like the warm weather is saying, “Yes, you DO need that bomber jacket.” I’m not saying it’s good to focus on buying new things come springtime… but it is a nice perk what with all of the newly available wearable-in-hot-temperature clothing. You know? I’ve always enjoyed fashion. I don’t think it’s wrong to enjoy such a thing.

Spring means…

Hair-ruffling breezes. Neighbors getting out their basketballs for the first time in months, so hearing the bounce bounce bounce rhythm outside your window. Budding flowers. Bracing yourself for the arrival of the bees. Feeling the need for sunglasses even if the sun isn’t out (because warmth= sun= sunglasses, right?). Cranking down the car windows on your way home. Singing early 2000s songs at the top of your lungs. Feeling giddy when you spy a bluebird in your tree. Not caring about anything, because the only thing you can focus on is the fact that it’s 70° outside! Cotton candy-esc clouds. It being finally socially acceptable to drink iced coffees from Starbucks. Splashing in puddles from last night’s rainstorm and not minding that your shoes get wet. The sun filtering inside through windows and casting mesmerizing shadows over everything.

Spring has sprung and I couldn’t be happier about it!

🌸       🌸      🌸

Update on my life:

Incase some of you didn’t know, I’m a freshman in high school and just turned fifteen this month! So that’s fun. I still really want to go to Paris. Braces are a jolly adventure. Do not read “The Fault In Our Stars” unless you want to cry, because you will. Whoever invented scented eyeshadows deserves to be rich (they probably are). God gives us trials to make us stronger. Holding grudges solves nothing. Pop music is kind of fun to listen to. I take a lot for granted. God is great.

There’s my jumbled mind for you. That’s all for now. Happy spring!

Blessings! Lauren Joy

Leave a Reply

