Small Town, Big Dreams

Growing up in an environment completely different from that of New York City, Orlando, or San Francisco, I can’t help but crave adventure.

I Adore Where I Live

I don’t think that where I live is boring. It’s familiar, sure, but why does that have to be linked with boredom? My community is bursting with art. I love my home church. I sat down at a restaurant on my birthday and had two different families that I know walk in and wish me a happy 15th. Nothing ever feels crowded here, and I can walk to-and-from places with some female friends without feeling like I’m in an intense amount of danger. Where I live, there is so much of an emphasis on people.

It’s been a great place to grow up thus far. I often consider the idea of living here when I’m older to raise a family of my own. That being said, I know God has massive plans for my life, and I’m going to go wherever He leads. I just hope that, if anything, I get to visit my hometown a lot when I’m all grown up.

I Want to See SO MUCH

Whether it’s nature or manmade sights, my desire is to experience different cultures and foods and lives. I’ve travelled to six states in my life so far, and I’ve never left the country. My goal is to go to all 50 states, and there’s many different countries that I want to travel to as well. I recently started a list in my journal of cities in the U.S. that I want to travel to and where I want to go when I’m there. Once I finish that list, I’m going to list all of the global destinations.

img_3615

If anyone knows how I could get paid to travel, please let me know. (I’ve already Googled this question. The issue is, I don’t like cruise ships or airplanes, so working on a ship or being a flight attendant are out of the picture.)

Some people say that traveling isn’t as fun as it seems.

I went to Nashville about two years ago for Spring Break. We were there for a week, and the entire time I was just in awe of everything. We saw a plethora of famous places (Loveless Café, The Parthenon, The Grand Ole Opry, Belmont University, etc.) and stayed in an inexpensive hotel with free morning breakfasts. I wanted to remember that trip as much as possible, so I basically wrote a BOOK about it on my Instagram (mind you, this was before I had my blog). How can people say traveling is boring? If there’s anything that I’ve discovered from exploring the places I’ve been fortunate enough to travel to, it’s that people from all different backgrounds and lifestyles are the same underneath. We’re all capable of love, and we all crave it.

When I travel, I enjoy people-watching just as much as sight-seeing. I think, in a way, it actually is a form of sight-seeing.

One of the main things I want to do when I travel in the future is view art exhibits and museums. I adore the ability to be able to glance into someone’s life based on the kind of art that they made. I also really appreciate how every individual that views art gets a completely different emotion and vibe from everyone else. Art is personal. As for museums, while I’ve never been huge into textbook history, I love seeing physical things from way back when. A museum is basically a time machine.

My Dream Destination

The ONE place that I have (literally) dreamt about traveling to for ages is none other than Paris, France.

The cobblestone streets. The exotic French accents. The magnificent Eiffel Tower, and Arc de Triomphe, and Notre Dame. The beautiful architecture. The decadent foods. The photo-worthy drinks. The always fashionable locals. The undertone of love.

If I ever actually get to go to Paris, I’m going to cry. I know that money is a huge part of how often and where to I’ll be able to travel. But I also know that I would be willing to live without certain pleasures if it meant I could travel somewhere at least once a year. Whether it’s Rhode Island or Paris.

img_3850img_3848img_3849

I mean, look. AUGH! It all started when I had a dream that I went to France. I went to the local food market, and to Parisian clothing stores, and to the top of the Eiffel Tower. I woke up as soon as it ended and said, “I am going to go to Paris one day.”

🛩       🛩       🛩

I’m a small town girl with big dreams. I know I’ve been extremely blessed to have even left my hometown, because believe it or not some people where I live haven’t even traveled forty-five minutes away.  I don’t really know where I’m going to live in the future, but I do know that I want to visit the world. Mainly the U.S. and Europe, but I’m down for anywhere.

What’s the one destination you want to see above the others? What place that you’ve traveled to have you loved the most?

“The impulse to travel is one of the hopeful symptoms of life.” -Agnes Repplier

Blessings! Lauren Joy

 

One thought on “Small Town, Big Dreams

Leave a Reply

