January Faves

Ahhhh hello! How insane is it that we’re already a twelfth of the way through the year? Life’s a whirlwind, people.

Anyhow. It’s time for my first-ever favorites post! This is basically a blog entry  concerning everything that I have been lovin’ during January… it’s pretty self-explanatory.  (-:

Beauty

These are some recent additions to my beauty supply! There’s no “makeup” category because I only have one makeup favorite this month, so I stuck it in the mix.

💄      💄      💄

Mario Badescu Spray

I heard about this through several YouTubers I watch, and they all have flawless skin so I figured it was worth a try. The 4 oz. bottle is only $7, and it’s mainly a concoction of rose-water and aloe extract juice. I spray this all over my face before and after I apply my make up, as well as sometimes right before I go to bed. Not only does it act as a toner, but it makes my make up stay on for a long time and moisturizes my skin! It’s one of my necessities now, and I’ve barely had it for a month.

Face Masks

Processed with VSCO with kk2 preset

This month, I bought some face masks at Ulta. I use them once or twice a week after I shower, and I’ve already seen them make a difference in my skin. I currently use either a sweet tea and lemon peel-away clay mask OR a charcoal and black sugar mud mask. They both work really well for different reasons, and just in general make me feel 10x more cleansed and awake than before.

New Mascaras

For Christmas, I received some new (black) mascaras to try out. First is “Itty Bitty” by Buxom. This one is a tiny brush, somewhat resemblant of a spooly. I use this if I want to look like I have slightly longer lashes than I actually do, while still giving the illusion that I’m not wearing any mascara. It’s also a good lower lash mascara. The second one is “Lash Domination” from Bare Minerals, which you wouldn’t think of as a brand with bomb eyelash products. However, this voluminizes my lashes so much, it’s not even funny. This works better than several Cover Girl mascaras that I’ve used before, and it’s definitely worth a try.

Health

As you can perhaps tell from my resolutions blog post, I’m really working to improve my physical health this year. Here are some things that have been helping me in that process. 🏥    🏥    🏥

Essential Oils

These have always been in my house, but I’ve been enjoying them a lot more recently. I use lavender scents to calm me down, or frankincense on something like a canker sore. Since it’s cold season, I’ve been rubbing an essential oil vapor stick on my throat every night to ward off illnesses. Essential oils are a nice way to boost your immune system!

Yoga

I’ve done yoga maybe six times this month, which is pretty good considering that my goal was to do it once a month (and that, preceding January, I’d never done it at all). Not only is it lovely for stretching out my body, waking me up, and refocusing my energy, but it is also a really nice mental refresher. I’ll do a 30 minute session from YouTube, drink water, and then spend some time with The Lord. It’s a nice break from reality.

TV, Games, & Books

I’ve used January to expand my horizons a little, as far as my interests go. Below are my newfound love of a television series, a new movie obsession, a book rave, and a game rave.  📺    📺    📺

Sherlock Holmes (BBC)

Sherlock (series 4)

I 100% watched 3 seasons of this over the first 5 days of January. Several of my friends are into this show, so I figured I would give it a try. It’s very unlike anything else I watch, but now I’m absolutely obsessed with it. It’s one of the most intense, intriguing, and mind-boggling TV series I have ever watched.

Flowers for Algernon

Again, a few of my friends recommended this to me. It’s about a mentally handicapped man, Charlie, in his 30’s who becomes a part of a scientific experiment. Should I say much more, I’ll ruin the entire plot… but it’s one of the most beautiful books I’ve ever read. The author, Daniel Keyes, has a captivating way of placing you directly inside Charlie’s head.

La La Land

BOY OH BOY. I saw this movie with a group of friends this past week, and can I just say that I have never watched a more perplexing movie in my life. I honestly might do an entire blog post dedicated to this movie, because it’s definitely worth talking about. If you have yet to see it, I won’t say anything about the plot line other than it’s a love story that doesn’t merely involve the love between two characters. 🤷🏼‍♀️

The Sims 4

Processed with VSCO with kk2 preset

Honestly, the fact that I own this game for the PC is a dream come true for my nine-year old self. I grew up playing Sims 2 on the GameCube, and eventually worked my way up to Sims 3 on the Wii. However, the Sims 4 for the computer is a whole different experience by FAR, and considering how much I love designing things and games involving role play, this video game is an ideal for me. “Obsessed” is the only word I can use to describe my relationship with the Sims.

                      🖤        🖤       🖤

All during the month of January, I cut soda out of my diet entirely. It wasn’t extremely difficult, although perhaps a tad annoying having to either order a lemonade or water at most fast food restaurants. However, by doing this cleanse I’ve realized that I don’t crave soda or carbonation in general a ton anymore, and it has helped me keep up on drinking lots of water and beverages with less sugar. Now that it’s February, it’s time for the plank challenge (cue internal screams and regret)!

I hope that 2017 is treating you well so far, and if you’re already not feeling it, remember to stay positive. Chin up, buttercup. Storms always get worse before they clear out.

Blessings! Lauren Joy

 

 

One thought on “January Faves

  1. Sara says:

    What fun to read your blog and learn about items that are new information to me.

    We have been in Florida for a few weeks, which has been pleasant.

    We are starting a leisurely drive home, so I read your most recent blog while riding along Interstate 75.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

