Up On The Housetop…

😏It’s that time of year againnnnn!

Christmas is my absolute FAVORITE time of year. If you think I was too into autumn, boy are you in for a surprise! Fall might be my favorite season, but Christmas is my favorite holiday in the world! For me, Christmas lasts from November 1st until December 31st, but I haven’t been blogging about Christmas until now to humor those of you who think Christmas spirit should only be post-Thanksgiving.😉

This post is a nice starter’s kit for getting into the Christmas spirit. I mean, it doesn’t have to be Christmas. It could be Hanukkah, Kwanzaa… but I celebrate Christmas, so that’s what these blog entries will about!

Below you’ll find a Christmas playlist, some festive “roomspiration” (room inspiration), and a few holiday drink ideas!

Christmas Tunes

I use Spotify for almost all of my music nowadays, and this playlist that I’ve created is public under the name: “too festive.” It’s over 100 songs, I’m proud to say. Any song with a little * by it means that it’s one of my favorite songs on the playlist. I would say that I have a good mix of classics, pop, and songs I used to listen to growing up. Enjoy!

•O Come, All Ye Faithful (Pentatonix)
•Jingle Jingle Jingle (Stan Francis)
•God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
(Pentatonix)
•Christmas the Whole Year Round (Sabrina Carpenter)
•Winter Wonderland (Frank Sinatra)
•White Christmas (Pentatonix)
•Silver Bells (Tony Bennett)
•Happy Holiday (Irving Berlin)
•I’ll Be Home For Christmas (Pentatonix)
•Love Is Christmas (Sara Bareilles)
•Man With The Bag (Jessie J)
•Up On The Housetop (Pentatonix)
•Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (Josh Groban)
•Mistletoe (Justin Bieber)
•White Christmas (The Drifters feat. Clyde McPhatter and Bill Pinckney)
•Baby It’s Cold Outside (Colbie Caillat)
•Where Are You Christmas (Faith Hill)
•The Christmas Sing-Along (Pentatonix)
•O Holy Night (David Archuleta)
•Coventry Carol (Pentatonix)
•He Carves The Roast Beast/Welcome Christmas (James Horner)
•The Most Wonderful Day of the Year (Glee Cast)
•Home For Christmas (*NSYNC)
•Hallelujah (Pentatonix)
•Jingle Bells (Michael Bublé feat. The Puppini Sisters)
•All I Want for Christmas Is You (Mariah Carey)
•Coldest Winter (Pentatonix)*
•My Song For You (Bridgit Mendler)
•Somewhere In My Memory (John Williams)
•Good To Be Bad (Pentatonix)
•Joy To The World (David Archuleta)
•Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays (Pentatonix)
•Here Comes Santa Claus (Gene Autry)*
•Let It Snow (Lucas Grabeel)
•Jingle Bells (A Hip-Hop Carol) (Kyle Massey)
•Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays (*NSYNC)
•Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
(Pentatonix)
•White Christmas (Irving Berlin)
•Shake up Christmas (Train)*
•Winter Song (Sara Bareilles)
•Little Saint Nick (The Beach Boys)
•White Winter Hymnal (Pentatonix)
•What Does He Want? (Ashely Tisdale)
•Sleigh Ride (Pentatonix)
•Hoping For Snow (The Vamps)
•Winter Wonderland/Don’t Worry Be Happy (Pentatonix)
•That’s Christmas to Me (Pentatonix)
•Greatest Time Of Year (Aly & AJ)*
•Mary, Did You Know? (Pentatonix)
•Christmas Wrapping (Glee Cast)
•Cuddle Up (Catey Shaw)
•Where Did We Go Wrong? (Phineas and Ferb Cast)
•Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas (Sam Smith)
•Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy (Pentatonix)
•Christmas Vacation (Monique Coleman)
•Thank You Santa (Mitchel Musso)
•It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year (Pentatonix)
•It’s Not Christmas Without You (Victorious Cast)
•Run Rudolph Run (Chuck Berry)
•Santa Claus is Coming to Town (Pentatonix)
•This Christmas (Chris Brown)
•merry christmas darling (Christina Perri)
•Silent Night (Pentatonix)
•Santa Tell Me (Ariana Grande)*
•Text Me Merry Christmas (Straight No Chaser feat. Kristen Bell)*
•Silent Night (Chanticleer)
•Oh Santa! (Mariah Carey)*
•Let It Go (Pentatonix)
•something about december (Christina Perri)
•Do You Want to Build a Snowman? (Kristen Bell)
•Do They Know It’s Christmas (Glee Cast)
•Joy to the World (Pentatonix)
•It’s Christmas (Chris Tomlin)
•Cold December Night (Michael Bublé)*
•Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas (Leslie Odom Jr.)
•Just For Now (Pentatonix)*
•I’ll Be Home For Christmas (Glee Cast)
•The First Noel (Pentatonix)
•It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas (Bing Crosby)
•A Marshmallow World (Bing Crosby)
•Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (Pentatonix)
•December Prayer (Idina Menzel)
•Angels We Have Heard on High (Pentatonix)
•please come home for christmas (Christina Perri)
•Santa Claus Is Comin’ to Town (Frank Sinatra)
•First Noel (Leslie Odom Jr.)
•O Come, O Come Emmanuel (Pentatonix)
•Christmas Pipes (Celtic Women)
•Every Day Is Christmas (Straight No Chaser feat. Colbie Caillat)
•Carol of the Bells (Pentatonix)
•Christmas (Baby Please Come Home) (Mariah Carey)
•The Christmas Song (Pentatonix)
•Last Christmas (Ariana Grande)
•Winter Song (Leslie Odom Jr.)
•O Holy Night (Pentatonix)
•Happy Xmas (War Is Over) (Maroon 5)
•This Christmas (Pentatonix)
•Santa Baby (Ariana Grande)
•Little Drummer Boy (Pentatonix)
•Wonderful Christmastime (Straight No Chaser feat. Paul McCartney)
•Go Tell It On the Mountain (Pentatonix)
•It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas (Michael Bublé)
•Ribbons And Bows (Kacey Musgraves)
•I’ll Be Home For Christmas (Michael Bublé)
•ave maria (Christina Perri)
•All I Want for Christmas Is You (Fifth Harmony)
•Christmas Soul (Ross Lynch)
•A Great Big Sled (The Killers)

Let’s Decorate!

I am obsessed with decorating my room for each season or holiday. Who knows— maybe I’ll grow up to be an interior decorator! I find that I’m in a more Christmasy mood when my surroundings are extremely festive. Here are some easy ideas for your bedrooms and houses!

1. Paper Snowflakes— I like to cut some of these out and hang them in the corner on my ceiling. It creates a mini little winter wonderland (if you will), and I feel accomplished because all throughout my life growing up I was never able to successfully cut out a paper snowflake (hehe).❄️

IMG_2561.PNG

2. Christmas Lights— Kind of a no brainer, but putting up the Christmas lights is a big one for me. Not only outside, but also in my bedroom. I put lights above my bed, on my bed posts (LEDs), and along the top of my walls. So not only does my house look festive outside, but also inside (which is where you’ll be spending most of your time in December anyways, because who wants to go outside in freezing temperatures?).✨

3. Flannel Sheets— Not only does this keep me warm and cozy, but it also makes my bed look like it’s straight out of a cabin in the woods or something. And I don’t know about you, but a cabin in the woods screams mountains, which screams snow, which screams Christmas. So flannel sheets = top priority.🛌

IMG_7535.JPG

4. CANDLES GALORE— It’s no secret that candles are one of my favorite worldly things. I’ll just list the scents that I have, which can be obtained from places like ‘Meijer’ or ‘Bath and Body Works’: marshmallow fireside, mahogany balsam, hazelnut cream, sugar cookie, vanilla snowflake, and frosted pomegranate cranberry. If you don’t have a real Christmas tree (like my family) but still want that evergreen scent wafting through your home, candles like “mahogany balsam” come in handy. My family bakes like crazy in December, but on the days where nothing is in the oven I like to light “sugar cookie” or something similar.🕯

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

5. Photo Strings and Pretty Things— Oh look, a rhyme! I like to take the time to focus on the little details when I decorate. One of the things I do is print out a mix of my own pictures and photos I find on Pinterest. I then pin them to string and attach the string to my wall, creating a lovely little festive collage. I also make a winter to-do list. This includes things like: make a gingerbread house, donate food/toys, and go Black Friday shopping. This reference allows me to see things that I can do if I’m bored or have some spare time, and it keeps me motivated because then I can have a completed checklist of activities by the end of the season.
I also enjoy setting up nativities, Christmas villages, et cetera.🎀

See the holiday picture gallery on my home page to gain more insight about my decorating style!

Quick Drink Ideas

If you couldn’t already tell, I try and make EVERY aspect of this time of year as Christmasy as I can… including what I put into my body. Below are some super simple festive drink ideas!

•Milk + Creamer
You heard me. I like to pour a glass of milk, and then add some peppermint creamer! You can find creamer in large containers at most grocery stores, so that way you don’t have to waste those little tubs of creamer that you put into coffee. Perhaps it isn’t super healthy, but it kind of tastes like a Starbucks drink if you believe hard enough.

•Cocoa + Gingersnaps
Similar to milk and cookies, except this time it’ll keep you nice and toasty. Hot cocoa and gingersnap cookies (or gingerbread if that’s your preference) make a delicious combination. The chocolate merged with the ginger flavors puts a nice kick in your hot cocoa!

•Cranberry Smoothie
I’m definitely a smoothie person in the summertime, but who says you have to stop drinking smoothies when it gets cold outside? Throw some milk, ice, honey, cranberries, and protein powder into a blender and you have yourself a summer drink turned into a potential winter favorite.

⛄️      ⛄️     ⛄️

You’ll be seeing plenty of Christmas blog posts from now until December 25th! I hope that no matter what you celebrate, you remember to respect others and spread joy.

Blessings! Lauren Joy

 

 

Leave a Reply

