People Are Pretty Incredible, Alright?

My life lately has kind of been a showcase of: “Well, some people suck. But some people definitely don’t suck, and those are the people who make my life better.” I’m all for optimism, but not everyone’s intentions in life are pure. Because sin is a thing, everyone does stupid stuff at one time or another for shallow reasons with foolish motives. Some more than others.

I suppose it’s a pretty “duh” thing, but I’ve realized that surrounding myself with people radiating a negative energy not only turns my mind in that direction, but it also drains my spirit. If I’m around people who always see the glass as half-empty, or that point out the flaws in everything, or that can’t be respectful of other people… it bothers me to the point where I will physically walk away from them. Because I know that if I stay there, I’m either A) going to say something I’ll regret, or B) become just like them.

I Can’t Fake ME

I’m my own person in life. I’m not my sister, or my best friend, or even who I was two years ago. I try to be a better person every day, and while I’m constantly failing at that I still know that I’m a very distinct being. My mannerisms are unique to me specifically, I have a different fashion sense than most… I take pride in the fact that I’m not like everybody else.

I’m not going to change for those that don’t matter in my life. A random kid in the hall thinking that my hair is too long or too short isn’t going to make me change my hairstyle. One of my friends thinking something I like is dumb isn’t going to make me reject that passion. Someone making fun of me for standing up for my beliefs isn’t going to make me stop believing.

Negative energy will always be around us. It pretty much always has been, and I know there’s no magic formula to get rid of bullying or disrespect or anything of the sort. Everyone is angry about something, which is natural. But let us be SLOW to anger, SLOW to speak, and very QUICK to listen to what others have to say.

My Trap

I often become trapped in creating false assumptions of people. I’m quick to judge. I’m an ENFJ… J for judging, guilty as charged. It’s my natural instinct, but I’ve found that altering my initial reaction to situations is turning my heart around for the better. Instead of assuming someone is being a jerk simply because they can? I take a look at what their life at home could be, and what their past could be, and my heart becomes softer towards them.

Every one of us has a past full of things that have shaped and molded us into who we are today. We’ve all been through crap. Showing sympathy for other people doesn’t make you weak: it makes you strong. It opens your eyes to the fact that this life is bigger than your issues, your problems.

Back to My Point…

Oops. I feel like I get sidetracked so easily. I pretty much write what I think, so it gets a little all over the place sometimes. It’s like you get to peek inside my brain for a little bit! Anyways… my point.

There have been moments recently where I’ve gone, “Man, you’re not as genuine as I thought you were.” Which is fine, because that’s life and people change. What’s really great about life, though, is that it balances out those times with moments of, “Wow. They’re a lot cooler than I thought they were.” There have been SO MANY people in my life, some just days ago, where I’ve gained a whole new level of admiration for someone, or I’ve started to love someone a little bit more, or I’ve understood why someone acts the way they do and received clarity. People are beautiful creatures with massive hearts capable of such love… some reject the full potential that their heart has, but those that embrace it are who make life a lovely, worthy experience.

🍵         🍵         🍵

I’m not entirely sure what the point of this blog post is. I know I haven’t posted on here in about a month, and posts following this will most likely be Christmas-related because the holiday is only 34 sleeps away!

Bottom line (haha… literally): be kind to people. Don’t judge someone until you know their story. That is just as much a reminder for me as it is for anyone else.

Blessings! Lauren Joy

One thought on “People Are Pretty Incredible, Alright?

  1. Tom Hawblitzel says:

    WOW! What an incredible, thoughtful post. Oh, by the way, I am an ENFP.

    My husband and I read it together this morning.

    Thank you for sharing.

    Warmly, Mrs. Sara Hawblitzel

    On Mon, Nov 21, 2016 at 10:03 PM, Lauren Joy Blogs wrote:

    > laurenjoyblogs posted: “My life lately has kind of been a showcase of: > “Well, some people suck. But some people definitely don’t suck, and those > are the people that make my life better.” I’m all for optimism, but not > everyone’s intentions in life are pure. Because sin is a thing” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

