Book Rave

(As a quick note before I officially start this blog post, you might notice that my blog looks a little different! I switched it up a bit because I felt like the design and overall appearance I had wasn’t representing me very well. I’m still fine-tuning some things, but as a whole I’m very pleased with how it has turned out. October has kind of been a slack-off month for this blog, and I apologize. But it’s time to get things rolling again! [One more thing before we move on. Almost all of the pictures in this post were found on Google, except for the image you see at the top of the page. I try to use my own images as much as possible, but I’m awful at taking pictures of books while making them look artsy. Just wanted you to know they’re not my own!] Alright, now… on with the main event.)

You know what? I think it’s time I told the world about my favorite books. And by books, I mean book series. I, personally, think I have lovely taste, but I’m also a fourteen-year-old female. My preferred genres and authors may be the polar opposite of yours, and that’s fine. That won’t stop me from publishing this post.

📖           📖          📖

The Selection Series

img_2784

 

The Selection Series is written by the one and only Kiera Cass. In the first three books of this series (The Selection, The Elite, and The One), you follow the story of America Singer. These books take place in the future, where the United States has been made into a new country: Illéa. Illéa is a monarchy, which I think makes this series 10x more interesting. The King and Queen of Illéa have a son, Maxon, and in order for him to find a suitable wife he must go through a Selection. Similarly to the popular tv show The Bachelor, a Selection is where a girl from each province of Illéa comes to the castle and tries to win the prince’s heart. America Singer is the chosen girl from her province, but being a part of the Selection is the last thing she wants. You follow her journey of going through the entire process that the Selection is, and it’s filled with plenty of romance and drama. Rebels, a caste system, and competitive girls are just a few aspects that make these books so interesting and engaging.

The last two books in the series, The Heir and The Crown, follow Maxon’s daughter. Princess Eadlyn must go through with a Selection of her own to find a suitable husband to rule beside her in the future. These books are quite different from the first three, in the sense that you get to see how a Selection runs from the Selector’s point of view rather than the Selectee’s. Are those real words? Either way. You follow Eadlyn’s love story… even though falling in love is her biggest fear.

I’ve read this series two or three times and never tire of it. They really are a wonderful collection of books if you’re looking for a new series to invest some time in.

Also, at the beginning of this year Kiera Cass released a re-written version of her first published book, The Siren. This book isn’t related to The Selection series at all, but I still found it to be a very good read and unlike most books that I’m into. Consider looking into that one if you’re interested in aquatic things, atypical love stories, and mystery.

A Charmed Life

IMG_2785.JPG

First off, can I just say wow. Jenny B. Jones really knows how to write. A Charmed Life is a series made up of three books: So Not Happening, I’m So Sure, and So Over My Head. One of my friends recommended this series to me, and I’m so glad she did. This series follows Bella Kirkwood, a New York socialite whose life is turned around when her parents divorce and she moves with her mom and new stepfather to Oklahoma. Jenny B. Jones finds a way to work Christianity, sass, and mystery into every chapter. Bella is one of the most relatable characters I have ever come across simply because of how sarcastic and out-there she is. Bella encounters many obstacles throughout this series including: almost dying (like twice per book, to be honest), transitioning from a girl with Broadway in her backyard to someone who can barely afford to get a new pair of Wal-Mart shoes, and having her life publicized on national television.

I can’t count how many laugh-out-loud moments I’ve had with this series. Jenny B. Jones knows just how to express the voice inside my head that I rarely verbalize.

A Charmed Life is what got me hooked on Jenny B. Jones. Here is a list of some other books of hers that I have read/will eventually read.

  • There You’ll Find Me (you will cry with this one)
  • Save the Date (the main character in this, Lucy, is similar to Bella from A Charmed Life, but I feel like I can relate to Lucy a little bit more simply because she is very squeamish😅)
  • I’ll Be Yours (this one I have yet to read, so I can’t say much about this other than it’s Jenny’s newest book and surely just as amazing as all her others!)

I do believe there are a few more things she has written, but 3 bullet points is a pleasing sight for me, so I’ll just move on. If you really want to know more about her other work, I have faith that you’ll take time to do a little Googling for yourself.

Matched Trilogy

img_2786

The Matched Trilogy by Ally Condie is mainly about a girl named Cassia. As the series moves forward, you also see the story from Ky’s point of view. Basically, these books hold a society in which the government controls a lot of aspects of your life, including who you marry. At age 17, you are “matched” with someone who will be your future husband or wife. The government gives you a little chip with a picture of them on it so you know who you’re looking for at the Matching Ceremony (where, for many, you meet your future spouse for the first time). On Cassia’s chip, she finds a picture of her best friend, Xander, and is elated. However, right before she takes the picture away, another face flickers: Ky, a boy she recognizes from her childhood. Cassia and her friends, throughout this series, have to hide many secrets from the government and attempt to change the laws that have been set in place for as long as they can remember. I can’t say much more about the plot line without completely spoiling everything, so I guess you’ll just have to read it for yourself!

This series has the standard dystopian feel so often found in YA (young adult) books, but the style in which Ally Condie writes is so poetic. These books are incredibly pleasing to read because the sentences flow together like poetry. It’s also a very romantic series, but it focuses on the rarer-to-read-about side of romance. By this, I mean that instead of reading about a bunch of kissing, you’re in the heads of characters falling in love with other people’s minds and hearts. It’s one of the most surprisingly beautiful series I’ve ever come across.

🌋           🌋           🌋

Don’t you just love books? Reading is something I will never outgrow. I think being able to practically be transported to another world while reading is a huge blessing, and not something we should take for granted. Books are truly incredible. I mean, slices of a tree with some ink on them can make you cry, laugh… just feel? It’s super trippy.

If you actually read this whole thing and didn’t just skim it… you’re the real MVP. You get a free hug if I ever see you in person.

I hope you’re having a wonderful October, and if you haven’t yet today, make a mental list of ten things you’re thankful for. It’s all about perspective, guys.

Blessings! Lauren Joy

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Rave

  1. Marlene Schwer says:

    Lauren Joy you never cease to amaze me! You are such a blessing! Grandpy and I are so lucky to have been chosen to b your grandparents! By the way looking forward to getting our “hugs”. ❤️ 😘

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

