CODE ORANGE: Fall is Here!

IT’S FINALLY AUTUMN, EVERYONE. I’M SO PUMPED (just like how the pumpkin flavoring is PUMPED into the Starbucks Pumpkin Frappuccino). 😉

I know I’ve already made a blog post about fall, but this time I’m going to go deeper into things. Today, you’ll find out what my favorite fall scents are, be shown a playlist that’s bound to get you feeling autumnal, and be provided with scare-free Halloween movie options.

The BEST Candles

When the temperature starts dropping, I almost always have a candle burning. The little flames not only create heat (duh), but the room always ends up smelling 10x better than before. Unless you go for unscented candles. You do you.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

I have four fall candles. First off, I have the good old “Pumpkin Spice” (AKA, the most basic candle you can ever have). This one is a classic, and I burn this one if I’m in the mood to throw on some Ugg boots and an infinity scarf. Secondly, I have “Apple Pie.” I use this one when I’m craving something sweet (plus I adore pie, so this one just makes me really happy). It’s overall a warm, home-y scent. I also have “Spiced Apple Cider.” This one is pretty abnormal for me… it isn’t a scent I would typically go for, but it always makes me feel like I’m about to go on a hayride under the stars. Lastly, I have “Sugared Cinnamon Pumpkin.” This is pretty similar to most candles I have, considering the fact that it smells fairly sugary (hence the name). However, I wouldn’t say it’s a sickly scent by any means! The pumpkin aspect balances it out quite nicely.

“Apple Pie” is from Meijer (really tall 2-wick for roughly $10), “Pumpkin Spice” is from Kohl’s (shorter 1-wick for around $5), and the other two are from Aldi (standard 3-wicks for $3 a piece). Look folks, I love candles… but I won’t splurge on them just to temporarily satisfy my nose. You can find quality candles for cheap at places like groceries or drugstores. Bath and Body Works, of course, has phenomenal scents as well— but they’re a little more pricey.

Autumnal Playlist

The playlist I’m about to share with you is what I’ve been listening to on Spotify recently. These songs always get me feeling calm and content.

1b44fc88-2ba6-449c-a2f0-fd462eaf0916

•U.N.I. (Ed Sheeran)
•Like I’m Gonna Lose You (Meghan Trainor)
•Ordinary People (John Legend)
•The City (Ed Sheeran)                     •Homeless (Ed Sheeran)
•one night (Christina Perri)
•Skinny Love (Birdy)
•Fall (Ed Sheeran)
•Afire Love (Ed Sheeran)
•Isle of Flightless Birds (Twenty One Pilots)
•Not Alone (Darren Criss)
•distance (Christiana Perri ft. Jason Mraz)
•mine (Christina Perri)
•Fire Alarms (Ed Sheeran)
•Somewhere Only We Know (Glee Cast)
•Cold Coffee (Ed Sheeran)
•Holding Onto You (Twenty One Pilots)
•Nothin’ Like You (Dan + Shay)
•I’m A Mess (Ed Sheeran)
•bang bang bang (Christina Perri)
•Dear No One (Tori Kelly)
•Don’t Stand So Close to Me/Young Girl (Glee Cast)
•I Was Made For Loving You (Tori Kelly ft. Ed Sheeran)
•Too Young (Sabrina Carpenter)
•I See Fire (Ed Sheeran)
•Grade 8 (Ed Sheeran)
•Paper Hearts (Tori Kelly)
•Silly Love Songs (Glee Cast)
•Lego House (Ed Sheeran)
•Autumn Leaves (Ed Sheeran)
•Ready or Not (Bridget Mendler)
•On Purpose (Sabrina Carpenter)
•Gold Rush (Ed Sheeran)
•There’s A Girl (Trent Harmon)
•Johnny Boy (Twenty One Pilots)
•Firefly (Ed Sheeran)

Christina Perri’s songs are supposed to be lowercase, for the record. Whenever she releases a track, the title is all in lowercase letters. That is not a mistake, just to reassure you observational people. 🙂 And a lot of these songs are by Ed Sheeran, yes. Sorry if he isn’t your jam, but I think I’ve figured something out. You know how everyone has their ‘love language?’ Some people will feel most loved for when someone gives them a gift or when they’re paid a compliment. My love language? Ed Sheeran.

Just kidding… but seriously, guys. Ed knows his stuff.

LF Halloween Films

241e37a5-8678-4752-91b5-55d1273373de

LF, in case you’re wondering, stands for “Lauren-Friendly.” I have never been able to watch scary movies. Ever. Most people my age would die for haunted houses and horror films. Me? Give me romcoms, musicals, and animated films any day. Here are some fall-ish movies for those who, like me, just don’t favor scary things.

Halloweentown

img_1602

I live for these during autumn. The four movies in this series include: “Halloweentown,” “Halloweentown II: Kalabar’s Revenge,” “Halloweentown High,” and “Return to Halloweentown.” DCOM classics. These loosely follow the plot of a teenage girl who learns that her grandmother is a witch (and so is she!). Her, her brother, and her grandma travel to a place called Halloweentown, where witches, werewolves, and skeletons roam freely. Obviously a lot more happens, but I won’t spoil things for you!

Twitches

img_1603

Another DCOM series, hooray! Tia and Tamera Mowry star in both “Twitches” and “Twitches Too,” films about separated twin sisters who just-so-happened to be witches. They find each other and fight against the darkness! It’s sort of like “The Parent Trap” meets “Harry Potter.” I grew up on these movies, so they always bring back happy memories when I watch them.

It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown

img_1604

I feel like most people have seen at least one of these movies. This cartoon follows The Peanuts Gang as they go about different Halloween activities, including: trick-or-treating, a costume party, and staying up all night in the middle of a pumpkin patch for The Great Pumpkin to appear.

🎃       🎃      🎃

If you made it all the way down here to the end, thank you! It makes me glad that even just one person cares enough to read what I like to blog about. I hope you all find lots of festive things to do this autumn, and I’ll see you soon with my next blog post!

Blessings! Lauren Joy

 

Leave a Reply

